Novel Progress – 10/05/2013

So, because I am a writer, even though I’m trying to sell my existing manuscript, I’m obviously working on a new one. Last week I finished completely rewriting the first five Chapters of what I’m tentatively calling Don’t Leave, and this past week I completed the new Chapter Six. Here’s a breakdown of what I did:

Words written –

9/30/2013 – 954
10/02/2013 – 719
10/03/2013 – 1031
10/04/2013 – 2334
10/05/2013 – 248

Characters created – 4 (1 major, 3 minor)
Characters killed – 0

This was an important chapter for me because it’s essentially the turning point of the novel. Now, I know I’m going to have to go back and cut scenes to make sure that the turning point happens earlier, but that’s always the problem I face. I need to write out every aspect of the beginning, to fully feel-out my characters. I don’t think that’s surprising. But luckily for me it’s something I’m aware of and can focus on when I finish this thing up and then bring it back to the chopping block.

Leave a Reply

