Restarting Before The Finish

First of all, happy Halloween guys! Second, I would just like to say that I feel surprisingly excellent today considering that I deadlifted more than my body weight for the first time last night. Perhaps being so exhausted led to excellent sleep, and that’s why I feel so chipper this morning. Whatever the reason, I’m not complaining!

This week I’m working on Chapter Ten of Don’t Leave and it has been a dramatic departure from the last four chapters which flowed from my fingertips to the computer screen as fast as I could type them. For a variety of reasons, this one has been just a little bit harder. I know what I want to do, and at this point I know how I want to do it, which usually results in speed-writing from me. But what I’m facing is a delicate balance of taking two previously antagonistic characters and forcing them to start warming up to one another, which is always tricky.

And then there’s the fact that I’m halfway through the chapter, and I already know that I’ve put the events in the wrong time and place.

When I write a rough draft, I tend to put down whatever comes into my head and push through as far as I can. Or at least that’s what I used to do. But now as I’m sitting and typing out the words, I can tell how forced and unnatural it feels. I know that this scene is not right.  And for approximately two thousand words, I ignored that feeling. Just get it out, I told myself. You can fix it later.

But what purpose does that really serve? While the events in the scenes aren’t going to change, I know they need to happen somewhere other than where the characters are currently located, and moreover that they need to happen a little bit later in the game.

So you know what I’m going to do? I’m going to stop and start over. Yes, maybe that means I won’t finish a chapter this week. But in the long run, I’m doing myself a favor. Because I know that it’s going to need to be fixed, I know that this will result in better progression of the storyline, and I know, in the end, that I am actually saving myself time and effort.

But I have to say, sometimes it doesn’t feel awesome to stop what you’re doing and restart from scratch, even when it’s the right choice.

Leave a Reply

