New WIP

Dear readers. Let me tell you a story.

Once upon a time, I wrote a novel. I queried that novel and got…nothing. Ah well, so it goes. The novel was good, but it wasn’t great. It was kind of trope-city, and it certainly didn’t stand out in a crowded genre. I wasn’t heartbroken that the book didn’t get any bites. After all, I’ve only got a zillion other projects to work on, right?

But the thing I couldn’t let go of was these characters. Theses characters were, if I do say so myself, amazing. I was utterly in love with them, and in particular, their relationship with one another. So I started thinking…if I knew the issue was the story, and the trope-y-ness, why not write them a new story?

And then, on January 8, while listening to Lights “Muscle Memory” on repeat (yes, I’m obsessed with this song. Go listen to it now) I found that new story idea.

And now, dear readers. Now I’m almost 30K into this new book.

I can’t even tell you how excited I am about it. Does it still have tropes? Of course, they’re difficult to get away from, and some of them I just plain like. It still has princesses in ballgowns, and swordfighting, and typical High Fantasy creatures (unicorns instead of dragons, this time). But this story passes the Bechdel test. It has gender equality and diversity, things I didn’t realize I wasn’t writing until I got on Twitter. And it has an awful lot more standing in the way of our heroine and hero finding their HEA, making it a more exciting story.

Will this be the book that lands me an agent? Who knows. But at 30K, I know that I love, love, love this story and whether or not it ever gets published, I know that writing it is the right choice for me.

So what are you all working on that you’re excited about?

Leave a Reply

